MonroeTalks.com > Categories > Miscellaneous > Ads on this site


Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Ads on this site  (Read 2437 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Frenchfry

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27194
Ads on this site
« on: June 09, 2008, 11:20:28 AM »

While perusing blogsmonroe…..I happened to see an ad at the bottom that asked:
Quote
“Would you feel safe with Obama as president? Vote now for a chance to WIN $50,000.”

Curious, I clicked “YES”….a page opened that said:
Quote
“Enter your cell number now”
and the small words:
Quote
“By clicking, I accept Terms, Privacy, and Rules.”

The “Terms” said:
Quote
By Accepting the PredictoMobile service, You acknowledge and agree that you are enrolling in a subscription service that is billed at Nine Dollars and Ninety Nine-Cents ($9.99) per month to Your mobile phone bill, and You affirm that You have read, understood and agree to the complete Member Terms.”
http://www.predicto.com/landing.cfm?CID=38395&CampaignSessionID=24743525&PageID=736&LandingPageID=14747&NextPage=pri-103.cfm&BTNRequest=0&SID=

I think it’s wrong to accept advertising that operates under the guise of a contest while they are clearly preying on folks that don’t bother reading the terms.
Logged
WARNING! Reading Republican/Conservative/Tea Party comments will lower your intelligence quotient!

The new motto of the obstructionist Republican Party/Conservative-right/Tea Party...refuse to legislate, just investigate.

T-M-T

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3951
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 11:24:39 AM »

While perusing blogsmonroe…..I happened to see an ad at the bottom that asked:
Curious, I clicked “YES”….a page opened that said:  and the small words:
The “Terms” said:http://www.predicto.com/landing.cfm?CID=38395&CampaignSessionID=24743525&PageID=736&LandingPageID=14747&NextPage=pri-103.cfm&BTNRequest=0&SID=

I think it’s wrong to accept advertising that operates under the guise of a contest while they are clearly preying on folks that don’t bother reading the terms.

I'm sure MEN doesn't like me saying this, but if you use Firefox and Adblock Plus (both free), you never even see any of the ads.  I love it.
Logged

PXaiver

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 11:31:03 AM »

While perusing blogsmonroe…..I happened to see an ad at the bottom that asked:
Curious, I clicked “YES”….a page opened that said:  and the small words:
The “Terms” said:http://www.predicto.com/landing.cfm?CID=38395&CampaignSessionID=24743525&PageID=736&LandingPageID=14747&NextPage=pri-103.cfm&BTNRequest=0&SID=

I think it’s wrong to accept advertising that operates under the guise of a contest while they are clearly preying on folks that don’t bother reading the terms.

This is a load of BS.
Logged

Frenchfry

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27194
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2008, 12:01:46 PM »

This is a load of BS.

Sorry I didn’t mean to imply that everybody ignores the terms…..one wouldn’t normally expect that by entering a contest that they’d agree to automatic billing on their cell phone.
Logged
WARNING! Reading Republican/Conservative/Tea Party comments will lower your intelligence quotient!

The new motto of the obstructionist Republican Party/Conservative-right/Tea Party...refuse to legislate, just investigate.

the nosh

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10051
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2008, 02:48:53 PM »

im certainly not too fond of one of them...can you figure out which one it is???  :D
Logged
my heart is ruled by venus...but my head by mars.

www.BarackObama.com

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 707
  • It's A New Day
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2008, 02:53:38 PM »

There is also a new banner ad that runs center screen whenever you load a thread. This is a variable one since it runs on a timer and comes from one of those "click referral" programs. I can now click a link to explore bi-racial homosexual dating ads. Sweet! Just what I was looking for!
Logged
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/sharer.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DNGcPVRBts-o" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.facebook.com/sharer.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DNGcPVRBts-o</a>

PXaiver

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2008, 03:21:38 PM »

Sorry I didn’t mean to imply that everybody ignores the terms…..one wouldn’t normally expect that by entering a contest that they’d agree to automatic billing on their cell phone.


I put that the wrong way.  I completely agree with you.  The add basically tricks you into a $10 a month bill.  THAT'S the BS.
Logged

Lethlweapn

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2008, 03:52:12 PM »

I'm sure MEN doesn't like me saying this, but if you use Firefox and Adblock Plus (both free), you never even see any of the ads.  I love it.

This place has ads? Huh,,, Didn't even know it LOL. Gotta love Firefox. ;)
Logged

MonroeMom

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2008, 04:19:29 PM »

I'm sure MEN doesn't like me saying this, but if you use Firefox and Adblock Plus (both free), you never even see any of the ads.  I love it.
Just downloaded and installed these today, and I am totally ad free!!! THANK YOU, thank_me!!!!!!!!!  ;D
Logged

Lethlweapn

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2008, 04:23:07 PM »

Firefox is better in a lot of ways, mainly because Internet Explorer is the most used Web Browser, most viruses are written to take advantage of the code that they use. There are plenty of other reasons, but, this is one of the best reasons.
Logged

riversbend again

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 05:16:04 PM »

There is also a new banner ad that runs center screen whenever you load a thread. This is a variable one since it runs on a timer and comes from one of those "click referral" programs. I can now click a link to explore bi-racial homosexual dating ads. Sweet! Just what I was looking for!

forgive me, I can't help myself here..........but isn't that a violation of the terms of service? Who can we report Dan to?  LOL   :D
Logged

Sojourner

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2008, 05:18:51 PM »

I knew these ads would pose a problem. "Chat with Single Arabs" Huh? Now I'm waiting to see the one with a girl in a thong so I can marvel at Dan's TOS all the more.
Logged

Boylanjl

  • Hero Talker
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5612
  • xxx
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2008, 08:01:47 PM »

Misleading advertising, big suprise.  Thanx for the info French Fry.
Logged

tampachicken

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2008, 10:32:24 PM »



With alll the phishing scams.. viruses.. trojens... worms... adware and spyware.. I don't click on anything..  I learned this the hardway... Myspace is saten's pit of everything bad!!!!! 

I run very sophisicated security... but nothing will protect you from a well disguised scam... like when you are on myspace I got phished because I "clicked" on something that looked like it was from myspace... and it even brought up a screen like thier log in.. once I entered my password.. bam.. it phished me...  Then there was the "free ring tone" that is a cell phone billing scam... I figured that one before I entered my number...

One thing I check when I am on wedsites.. before I log in, I check the address bar... for example if I was running a phishing scam on MT  I would run an ad inviting you to click because you won something... and I would make the link look like MT has something to do with it.. similar page... but not exact.... I would say I need to verify that you are a MT member and as that you login... I may even have the address up on the bar that may look like MT...  like http://monroetalk.com/login  just one little letter... you just let me in.. and now I can do all sorts of evil things...  my security would alert me... but it I glance at the address and still invite it in, thinking it was safe...  So I check the address very close before I enter anything....

I don't think anyone would want to phish MT.. but on places like myspace... it can dive you crazy!!!!
Logged

Sojourner

  • Guest
Re: Ads on this site
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2008, 01:55:44 PM »



Come on. Seriously?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up